Symphonic Jazz Orchestra

Featured Release

Symphonic Jazz Orchestra

Looking Forward, Looking Back

Regular price $12.99

The Symphonic Jazz Orchestra (SJO) is comprised of Los Angeles’s finest studio musicians and jazz soloists. Over the years, such world-class soloists as Dave Grusin, Christian McBride, Raul Midón, Luciana Souza, Lee Ritenour, and Yellowjackets have joined the ensemble. The SJO has commissioned twelve new symphonic jazz works, along with six world premieres and three U.S. premieres.


Debuting in 2002, the 68-member Symphonic Jazz Orchestra (SJO) is a unique hybrid ensemble dedicated to blending the worlds of jazz and classical music. The ensemble has performed throughout Southern California at such venues as the Richard & Karen Carpenter Performing Arts Center, Royce Hall (UCLA), Walt Disney Theater (CalArts) and Marsee Auditorium.

Soloists joining the Symphonic Jazz Orchestra have included Grammy Award winning performers including George Duke, Dave Grusin, Christian McBride, Raul Midon, Jane Monheit, Lee Ritenour, Chris Brubeck, Luciana Souza, Ernie Watts, The Yellowjackets and Miguel Zenon.